Divortion Kids Rock!

Posted on July 26, 2010

0


Divortion (di-vôr’shen) n. – child that has been aborted physically, mentally & emotionally because of the divorce of their parents.

I am the coolest Product of Divortion you could ever meet. Why, because my trauma from being a product of divorce has not affected me. Or maybe it has, but I would say it has in a good way. My parents marriage peril makes me that much stronger. That much more willing to work harder on my marriage. I would be lying if I said I never was concerned about being like my parents. But that nagging thought at the back of my mind keeps me on my toes. It lets me know that no one person is exempt from an epidemic such as this. It gives me the extra umph to resolve and push through issues. Not to mention I also have an amazing wife that makes marriage a blast! Had to throw that little plug in there….lol!

I still struggle with several things.  The fact that I had no choice in the matter. I mean really, who the heck said they could get a divorce without my permission. I will be affected by this decision also (something I definitely didn’t know at that time in my life). The fact that I still wonder what life would have been like with a full-time Dad. The fact that I had to watch the events unfold. Yeah, I watched it. My own personal reality show; that’s why I’m not too interested in the ones that television provides. I can provide my own reality shows from my memories. My sister was too young to remember, but I remember it like it was yesterday…….

We lived in a 2-story home in Somerset, NJ; sometime in the 1980’s. We had a large beautiful backyard with this huge tree on the right side that had low limbs. The type of tree that you couldn’t keep a young boy out of. The house had a single car garage. This was back when 2 car garages were not as prevalent as they are now. Lol, I can reminisce all day………let me get on with the story. One day, I heard my parents arguing. Yeah, arguing in what I thought was my happy home. Arguing near the steps that I always played with my slinky on. To be truthfully honest I didn’t hear or understand a word they said. All I knew was there was shouting & leaving. Sorry, that wasn’t much of a story. But they were pretty heated. My mother took my sister & I and we stayed in a motel for a couple of days eating off a hot plate. I really had no idea of what was going on, but I was hurt. Hurt to be living in such a way and to be so confused as to what was going on. And by the way, where is my Daddy?

So, that’s the story. The story in which I have no intentions on re-living. So when I say divortion kids rock. I mean it, we have something in us that makes us stronger. For some this could be a weakness, but for me it turned into a burning feeling that yearned for a balanced family. A family I am so happy to have. TTYL………..gotta go change a diaper!

Posted in: Relationships