Sunset(You) vs Sunrise(I)

Posted on July 28, 2010

4


I am a sunrise. My wife is a sunset. That’s my way of saying we are complete opposites. We have always been.

I knew it on our very first date. Our first date was at Chili’s restaurant:

I was as smooth as they come; like a jungle cat gracefully walking into the restaurant. She was gorgeous. Her eyes were so bright and inviting, but her smile was her best weapon. I felt privileged every time I could get her to smile. I don’t remember what we ordered, but I remember her eating and getting some food on her face. I was too busy trying to be smooth. If I dropped a crumb I probably would have been able to catch it before it hit the floor.

I found out how seriously opposite we were every day afterward.

The famous saying “Opposites Attract”. I don’t know how true it is for everyone, but it was definitely the best chemistry for my wife & I. We couldn’t be any more opposite. She liked roller coasters, I didn’t. She liked spicy foods, I didn’t. She liked to try something different items on the menu, I stuck with what I knew. She could sing, I couldn’t. She could cry, I wouldn’t. She could trust, I wouldn’t allow myself too. I was careful, she wasn’t. I was a germ-a-phobe, she wasn’t. I get up early, she sleeps late. I go to sleep early, she stays up late. She looked for sales, I avoided them. She was sporadic, I was planned. She was beautiful, I was sure of that.

The funniest part is through time we have managed to meet in the middle. We have learned to compromise on things that are most important to us. At the end of the day if you took a picture of a sun rising on the east coast and a picture of a sun setting on the west coast at the same location in the sky above the tide. Could you really tell whether it was a sunset or sunrise? I could not. At the end of the day it’s all love.

Posted in: Relationships