Steering Your Children In The Right Direction

Posted on October 11, 2010

0


I am the proud owner of an 8 month old ball of energy with the determination of a runaway locomotive. Every afternoon I come home and sit down in my living room with my 8 month old son. And every afternoon he crawls directly to the coffee table, pulls himself up, & at least once that afternoon will fall down. It scares the life out of me. Even though each time he whimpers shortly and in less than a minute he’s back at it again.

I realized two things:

1. It is impossible to stop him from falling each and every time he falls.

2. Falling makes him stronger and more prepared to handle the situation in the future.

I looked 15-20 years into the future. I realized that as an adolescent/young adult sometimes he will fall down. And even though I will be more than willing and capable of picking him up each time; sometimes I won’t. Not only will working through the problem himself build character, but it will teach him how to be independent. It will teach him how to be a man. It made me realize there will be a time in his life that I need to back away from the table and trust God to keep him safe from falling. And when he falls I will be there for support, but pray that he prays to God like I taught him to help him stand on his own two feet.

I’m not abandoning him, but I want him to be capable. Capable of handling life’s situations. Capable of hearing the word “no”. Capable of coping when not being able to get what he wants. Capable of working hard to get something he really wants. Because that would teach him to appreciate it that much more.

Mostly, I do not want him to be handicapped. I do not want him to be accustomed to leaning on something outside of himself unless it is God. One day I will not be on this earth and I want to know that I have taught him the life skills to navigate through life.

I want to know that I steered him in the right direction.

Posted in: Children, Family, Life